Skip to main content
Resources for researchers
Membership is open to individuals with a professional interest in the scientific program at SURF

The SURF User Association:

  1. Promotes open discussion on relevant topics for researchers performing science at SURF
  2. Provides a means for SURF management to inform users on issues including current and future plans for the facility
  3. Promotes a sense of community amongst SURF experiments and researchers
  4. Articulates and promotes scientific case for UG science and its significance to society

Membership includes active researchers with a professional interest in the scientific program at SURF. An Executive Committee conducts the day-to-day business of the Association and consists of 9 individuals:

  • At least one (1) early career or young researcher (less than 5 years post-Ph.D.);
  • At least two (2) representatives of the physics community;
  • At least two (2) representatives of the biology-geoscience-engineering community.

At least one meeting of the general membership will be held each year.

Executive Committee Members

Name Field Experiment Institution Notes

Term Expiry

Mark Hanhardt Physics CASPAR SDSTA Early Career  04/12/2022
Brittany Kruger Life Science DeMMO Desert Research Institute Secretary 04/12/2021
Kevin Lesko Physics LZ Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory   04/12/2022
Rachel Mannino Physics LZ University of Wisconsin-Madison Early Career  04/12/2022
Ralph Massarczyk Physics MJD Los Alamos National Laboratory Chair 04/12/2021
Brianna Mount Physics BHUC Black Hills State University   04/12/2022
Megan Smith Earth Science EGS/
Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory   04/12/2021
Frank Strieder Physics CASPAR SD Mines   04/12/2021
Wenqin Xu Physics MJD University of South Dakota   04/12/2022


SURF User Association News

  • September 28-29, 2021: General Meeting (virtual)

  • September 14-15, 2021: SURF Long-Term Vision Workshop (virtual)

  • June 1, 2021: Quarterly Executive Committee meeting

  • February 23, 2021: Quarterly Executive Committee meeting

  • January 6, 2021: Executive Committee officers selected

  • December 4, 2020: Executive Committee members announced

  • November 25, 2020: Executive Committee election voting deadline

  • October 21, 2020: Executive Committee nomination deadline

  • July 28, 2020: Nominating Committee appointed

Documents and Downloads

SURF User Association Charter
244.5 KB